Tearing Down the Dam

Inside my body, you’ll find my soul
It’s a little bruised though, pain taking its toll
Like a dam in the river, bad energies stuck
Never leaving my body, always running amuck

I chose to ignore them, I chose to run and hide
Telling myself I was alright, to my own heart I lied
Now I take down that dam that I built back then
I have to go slow though, so the walls don’t cave in

At first it was tough, the water poured right out
‘I can’t handle this’, to myself I did shout
And although it’s still flowing and causing despair
I know I can handle it, I’m almost there

This poem was composed on Poet’s Corner. If you want to learn to write poetry come join the family – https://market.android.com/details?id=com.wildnotion.poetscorner

Leave a Reply

